Getting through the day

So The Avengers…

On a scale of 1 to superawsome, how good was it…I’d go somewhere in the range of 78 million. Yes, we’re getting into that time of summer blockbusters again and with the masterpiece of cinematography The Avengers landing squarely in the part of my brain that makes my grin uncontrollably while walking down the street I think we’re off to a pretty good start. It’s not just the fact that the characters are relevant, the action scenes are amazing, Robert Downey Jr. is fantastic as always and Mark Ruffalo is actually really good as Bruce Banner…Well it’s all those things. It is also that fact that FINALLY we have a modern franchise that genuinely cares if its viewers like the films or not, why the hell else would they have gotten Geek God Joss Whedon on board if it didn’t. With the build up the film had they could have easily made some two bit shed of a film, kept the $100+ million change and still got a crazy return. It has already broken the £1 billion mark after all, that’s over a third of what Avatar managed. I mean it can’t be a long term marketing ploy so they can make the next set of Avengers based films naff.  Just look at the Transformers franchise for an example, Michael Bay has announced Transformers 4 (Which, by the way, he said he would work on originally), yet another sequel to a series most people agree is pretty bad all over (LaBeouf, I blame you!) but has still grossed over $2.5 billion. Still, I am not a film reviewer despite my tendencies to ramble on about these things. The point is that that main thing I am pleased with is that time and effort has been taken to make something REALLY good here but should that be everyone’s approach to everything? I’m a writer and I try to make the best of what I can, whether I have or not is everyone’s own opinion but it was never done half heartedly because I have always been on the mind that everyone needs things to enjoy. Stuff to get them through the day. Life is hard and boring and sad and we all need things to look forward to, to make us happy and it is such a disappointment when that film or game or album you’ve been looking forward to for the past three months turns out to be a real let down. Hell, I imagine that’s why I’ve kept writing for all this time. Too tired and disappointed with everything big studios pump out constantly I resort to writing my own stories to enjoy. The bottom line, though, is that everyone should be encouraged to create what they love and love what they, and by extension, other people create because what is formed from the mind of a single person has to be generally better that that of a 17 person committee of tweed jackets. At the very least it has to be more focused…

Well, that’s enough from me for now, I must be productive after all… *moseys on over to the fridge*

Comments are closed.